What’s in a name tag

I’ve been set apart as a missionary,  though I won’t get my nametag till tomorrow, I’m officially ‘Sister West’. I’m not sure I’ll ever be able to introduce myself that way with a straight face. Though maybe in Amish country people will find that less weird.

But I’m thinking about this new identity and what it means for ‘just Jenn’. I won’t be a completely different person, but I have a new purpose and  there are different expectations of me now. I’ll be watched in a way I haven’t been watched before, I’ll be tagged as a representative of someone and something that really matters and I want to be careful about that without losing the joy that can be found sometimes in less careful moments.

‘Whoever will lose his life for my sake shall find it’ – I feel as though I’m about to lose at least a part of my life, which I find worrying, but I’m intrigued to see what kind of life I’ll find to take it’s place.

Off to the MTC tomorrow – letters and emails will be appreciated (DearElder.com does same day letter delivery in the MTC, all via their website, for FREE), but even more than that – I’ll be needing lots of prayers and good karmic vibes sent in the direction of Provo and then Ohio.

Leave a Reply

